Four of the 16 ITER upper port plugs will be devoted to electron cyclotron resonance heating (ECRH) in order to control the magneto-hydrodynamic (MHD) instabilities. In order to achieve the stabilisation of the neoclassical tearing modes (NTM) and sawtooth oscillation, a deposition of a very localized and peaked current density profile over a broad poloidal steering range is required. In the present optical configuration eight 2MW mm-wave beams enter each of the four upper launchers (UL) through waveguides into the vacuum vessel. Each beam line comprises consecutive corrugated waveguide sections with two mitre bends, orientating the poloidal and toroidal directions and three sections of quasi-optical transmission. The beam waist locations and beam shaping properties in free space propagation are defined by two additional mirrors, the first being a static focusing mirror and the second a plane poloidally steerable mirror. Each mirror reflects a group of four mm-wave beams. The three types of UL mirrors (mitre bend, focusing and steering) absorb heat generated essentially by three sources: the ohmic loss of the RF beam reflected at the mirror surfaces and the nuclear and thermal radiation coming from the plasma. While the average heat load is within reasonable engineering limits, three elements condition the actual mirror design, the peak ohmic heat load (gaussian or bessel type heat deposition profiles), the electromagnetic forces generated in vertical disruption events (VDE), and the ITER cooling water requirements. An overview of the different upper port-plug mirror designs and cooling schemes and an outlook on the prototype manufacturing activities and the future test program. The optimized mm-wave layout within the ECH port plugs is also presented.